Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Central California Training Academy

About Us

The Central California Training Academy is funded through a contract with the California Department of Social Services. The contract is authorized pursuant to the training provisions of the Code of Federal Regulation (CFR 45-16206) and encompasses training on referral to services, preparation for and participation in judicial determinations, placement of the child, case reviews, case management and supervision, and recruitment/licensing of foster homes and institutions.

Project Components

The Academy consists of eight distinct components:

  1. New Employee Induction Training
  2. Foundations in Child Welfare Supervision Core Training
  3. Ongoing Skills Training
  4. Training Support Services
  5. Augmentation/Support of County Child Welfare Automation Efforts (CWS/CMS)
  6. Training Mentoring
  7. Central California Area Social Services Consortium (CCASSC)
  8. Linkages with Title IV-E Funded BSW/MSW Programs and other Statewide Initiatives. 

Serving Central California

Due to the large geographical area in the Central California Region, and to enable the Academy project to better serve the twelve counties in the region, four sub-regional training sites have been established in the Northern, Central, Southern, and Coastal sub-regions.  Academy classes are held in various locations including, but not limited to Bakersfield, Fresno, Modesto and Santa Maria. 

Academy Competencies and Curriculum

The Academy utilizes a competency based training system to instruct and educate child welfare workers. The Academy has implemented a set of core or fundamental competencies needed for beginning practice in child welfare. Academy curriculum uses adult learning techniques and incorporates transfer of learning principles.

Core Program

Competency-based core child welfare training for newly hired staff has been developed in consultation with Central California counties, California State University, at Fresno and Stanislaus, CalSWEC and CDSS. Effective 2008, CCTA implemented the new California “Common Core” training curriculum which standardized new child welfare worker training throughout the state.  Common Core implementation is a key element in California’s Performance Improvement Plan (PIP) established with the Federal government.

The CCTA is the common entry point for all new child welfare workers hired by twelve counties in Central California. Concentrated core knowledge and skills instruction at the CCTA ensures that all counties benefit from induction training that is consistently delivered and reflective of the “best practice” standards established by the region and the state.

Emphasis has been placed on delivering training that orients new staff to the social and professional expectations associated with child welfare practice and equips new staff with the fundamental knowledge and skills necessary for good child welfare practice in a public child welfare setting. Linkages with CalSWEC facilitate a training continuum that connects knowledge and skill application with a theoretical framework that supports and strengthens child welfare practice.