Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Department of Recreation Administration

Department Faculty and Staff

Alphabetically

Justin Butchert

   Lecturer

     Phone: 559.278.2838

     Email: jbutchert@csufresno.edu

     Full Bio

Alexandra Clifton

   Lecturer   

     Phone: 559.278.2838

     Email: aclifton@csufresno.edu

     Full Bio

Jody Hironaka-Juteau

   Professor    

     Phone: 559.278.8749

     Email: jhironak@csufresno.edu

     Full Bio

Jill Lankford

   Lecturer

     Phone: 559.278.2838

     Email: jlankford@csufresno.edu

     Full Bio

Department Chair Sam Lankford
Department Chair

Phone: 559.278.2624

Email: slankford@csufresno.edu

Full Bio

Michael Mahoney
Professor

Phone: 559.278.5263

Email: mmahoney@csufresno.edu

Full Bio

Karen Markland

    Lecturer

       Phone: 559.278.2838

       Email: kmarkland@csufresno.edu

       Full Bio

Selena McLeod      Administrative Support Coordinator

     Phone: 559.278.2838

     Email: selenam@csufresno.edu

 

 

 

Bio:

Selena lives in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada Mountains just outside of Fresno. She has two amazing daughters, Lavender, a gifted Pastry Chef and Artist. And Scarlet, another Artist and natural Musician. She also has two pups, Tortuga a Catahoula/Rhodesian Ridgeback mix, a fantastic trail dog that has assisted on our Backpacking classes, and Smaug; a tiny but ferocious Miniature Pinscher that lives up to the dragon she's named after. Selena enjoys writing, playing the Native American flute,  tinkering in her garage on her truck, refurbishing furniture, and sitting enjoying the view with her girls.

She is also passionate in advocating for the destigmatisation surrounding mental health issues in our society, as well as supporting survivors of domestic abuse (which encompasses physical, emotional, verbal, financial, and psychological abuse.) If you are in need of mental health support, please call 1-800-273-TALK or 1- 800-SUICIDE. If you or someone you know needs help escaping abuse, please reach out for support locally to the Marjaree Mason Center at (559) 237-4706 or nationally 1-800-799-SAFE.

When it comes to working in the Recreation Administration Department she says "When I first applied, I had no idea what Recreation Administration was. But over the last 8 years I have absolutely come to appreciate what each area our students graduate from contributes to our communities. I think it can be taken for granted what an important part recreation plays in our everyday lives. Our physical, mental, and emotional health, the strengthening of our relationship ties with our family and friends, and the ways we interact with the environments around us. We use recreation in a lot of ways to grow and discover who we are and find others who like and value the same things we do. That's why when we say "welcome to the recreation family" we really mean family! I admire each of our faculty in their own unique way. I watch them go above and beyond supporting our students in not just their academic growth, but their personal growth and I've experienced this as well! I'm so happy that my career started in this department at Fresno State and I can't imagine working any where else on campus. Thank you for welcoming me into your family!

Nancy Nisbett
Professor

Phone: 559.278.7886

Email: nancyni@csufresno.edu

Full Bio

Rosanna Ruiz

    Lecturer

       Phone: 559.278.2838

       Email: rosannar@csufresno.edu

      Full Bio

Ryan Soares

   Lecturer

     Phone: 559.278.2838

     Email: rsoares@csufresno.edu

     Full Bio

Brandon Taylor
Assistant Professor

Phone: 559.278.2315

Email: brtaylor@csufresno.edu

Full Bio

Samara Trimble

   Lecturer

     Phone: 559.278.2838

     Email: strimble@csufresno.edu

     Full Bio

Jason Whiting
Associate Professor

Phone: 559.278.8749

Email: jawhiting@csufresno.edu

Full Bio

 

Lerin Winchester

Lecturer

Phone: 559.278.2838

Email: lwinchester@csufresno.edu

Full Bio