Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Department of Social Work Education

Gerontological Specialist Certificate

The Gerontological Specialist Certificate will be awarded to students who complete an interdisciplinary program of study consisting of 21 units. These units will consist of a 3-unit prerequisite course and 15 units of upper-division courses in gerontology plus an Internship. Students and community individuals admitted to the program are expected to have had two years of college or two years of in-depth experience in the field of aging and some college courses.

Those who have completed the course of study are entitled to use the title "Gerontological Specialist". This program follows the guidelines of the Association of Gerontology and Higher Education (AGHE).

Requirements (21 units)

  • GERON 100, 140, 161, 185
  • Elective (9* units)
  • Select 9 units from: GERON 103, 111, 115, 117, 125, 132, 137 (1-3 units), 139, 148, 150, 180T, 190

*Other gerontology courses may be approved as alternatives with permission of a gerontology advisor.

Visit the Gerontology online course catalog for further description of required and elective courses.


Dr. Helen Miltiades   

Office: PHS 107A