Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Department of Social Work Education

Meet Our Faculty

The Department of Social Work Education at Fresno State currently has 6 tenured, 7 tenure-track faculty, 9 full-time lecturers and approximately 7 part-time instructors teaching undergraduate and graduate social work courses; 1 tenured faculty and 3 part-time lecturers teaching gerontology courses. Our department chair and program coordinators have strong professional and diverse backgrounds, enhancing the structure and delivery of our overall program. Click on each of their names below to learn more about them and find contact information. 

Our administrative staff coordinators, assistants, and student assistants make our department office a warm and helpful environment. Our main office is located in the Professional Human Services (PHS) building in Room 128. The Title IV-E Child Welfare Program office is located in the same building in Room 115.  

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty


Dr. Irán Barrera, Ph.D., LCSW
Department Chair and Professor


Dr. Reuben Addo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Marcus Crawford

Dr. Marcus Crawford, Ph.D., MSW
Associate Professor


Dr. Travis Cronin, PhD., LCSW
Associate Professor, Field Coordinator

Dr. Jayasundara

Dr. Dheeshana Jayasundara, Ph.D., MSW

Dr. Lama portrait

Dr. Gyanesh Lama, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Candy Madrigal

Dr. Candy Madrigal, Ph.D., LCSW
Assistant Professor


Dr. Felipe Mercado, Ed.D., MSW
Assistant Professor


Dr. Helen Miltiades, Ph.D.
Professor and Gerontology Program Coordinator


Dr. Randy Nedegaard, Ph.D., MSW
Professor and MSW Program Coordinator


Dr. Martha Vungkhanching, Ph.D.

pa xiong

Dr. Pa Xiong, Ed.D. MSW
Assistant Professor




Faculty Early Retirement Program

debra harris

Dr. Debra Harris, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita

roger simpson

Dr. Roger Simpson, Ph.D., MSW
Associate Professor


Full-Time Lecturers


Maggie Armistead, MSW


Christopher Cole, MSW


Daniel Espinoza, MSW




Estella F. Saldivar, MSW
BA Program Coordinator


Benita M. Washington, MSW, PPSC
PPS Coordinator


Dr. Cheryl Whittle, Ph.D., PPSC
Title IV-E Program Coordinator 

bee yang

Cher Teng (Bee) Yang, MSW

chayeng xiong

Chayeng Xiong, MSW
Assistant Field Coordinator







Part-Time Lecturers

Name Program Email
Teri Collet Social Work
Frances Contreras Gerontology
Cynthia Cortes Social Work
Kathleen Cromwell  Gerontology
Xong Moua Social Work
Iris Person Social Work
Suzanne Rodriguez Social Work
Greg Sanchez Social Work grsanchez@csufresno.edi
Jill Schneider Gerontology
Juliette Shearer  Gerontology
Monica Strambi Social Work
Kristina Turk Gerontology
Eleanor Uribe (Speakes) Title IV-E

Department Staff

Social Work Education Office 

Main Office Phone: 559.278.3992

Christi Smith | 559.278.6824

Jose Torres



Title IV-E Office 

Main Office Phone: 559.278.3076

Vincent Latham | 559.278.8116

Pearl Fraijo

Maxine Watson