Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Department of Social Work Education

Meet Our Faculty

The Department of Social Work Education at Fresno State currently has 6 tenured, 7 tenure-track faculty, 9 full-time lecturers and approximately 7 part-time instructors teaching undergraduate and graduate social work courses; 1 tenured faculty and 3 part-time lecturers teaching gerontology courses. Our department chair and program coordinators have strong professional and diverse backgrounds, enhancing the structure and delivery of our overall program. Click on each of their names below to learn more about them and find contact information. 

Our administrative staff coordinators, assistants, and student assistants make our department office a warm and helpful environment. Our main office is located in the Professional Human Services (PHS) building in Room 128. The Title IV-E Child Welfare Program office is located in the same building in Room 115.  


Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

barrera

Dr. Iran Barrera, Ph.D., LCSW
Department Chair and Professor
ibarrera@csufresno.edu

addo

Dr. Reuben Addo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
raddo@csufresno.edu

crawford

Dr. Marcus Crawford, Ph.D., MSW
Assistant Professor 
marcuscrawford@csufresno.edu

cronin

Dr. Travis Cronin, PhD., LCSW
Assistant Professor and B.A. Program Coordinator
travis@csufresno.edu

jayasundara

Dr. Dheeshana Jayasundara, Ph.D., MSW
Professor
djayasundara@csufresno.edu

lama

Dr. Gyanesh Lama, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
glama@csufresno.edu

lowe

Dr. Mitzi Lowe, Ph.D., MSW
Professor
mlowe@csufresno.edu

blank image

Dr. Candy Madrigal, Ph.D., LCSW
Assistant Professor 
cmadrigal@csufresno.edu

mercado

Dr. Felipe Mercado, Ed.D., MSW
Assistant Professor
felipemercado1@csufresno.edu

miltiades

Dr. Helen Miltiades, Ph.D.
Professor and Gerontology Program Coordinator
hmiltiades@csufresno.edu

nedegaard

Dr. Randy Nedegaard, Ph.D., MSW
Professor and MSW Program Coordinator
nedegaard@csufresno.edu

vungkhanching

Dr. Martha Vungkhanching, Ph.D., MSW
Professor
marthavu@csufresno.edu

pa xiong

Dr. Pa Xiong, Ed.D. MSW
Assistant Professor 
pa.xiong@csufresno.edu

 

 

 

Faculty Early Retirement Program

betty garcia

Dr. Betty Garcia, Ph.D., LCSW
Professor Emerita
bettyg@csufresno.edu

debra harris

Dr. Debra Harris, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita
dharris@csufresno.edu

roger simpson

Dr. Roger Simpson, Ph.D., MSW
Associate Professor 
rsimpson@csufresno.edu

 

Full-Time Lecturers

armistead

Maggie Armistead, MSW
marmistead@csufresno.edu

carlin

Andrea Carlin, MSW, LCSW, PPSC
Field Coordinator, PPS Coordinator
andreac@csufresno.edu

Cole

Christopher Cole, MSW
ccole@csuffresno.edu

espinoza

Daniel Espinoza, MSW
despinoza@csufresno.edu

 

saldivar

Estella F. Saldivar, MSW
esaldiva@csufresno.edu

washington

Benita M. Washington, MSW, PPSC
Assistant Field Coordinator 
bwashington@csufresno.edu

whittle

Dr. Cheryl Whittle, Ph.D., PPSC
Title IV-E Program Coordinator 
cherylw@csufresno.edu 

bee yang

Cher Teng (Bee) Yang, MSW
beey@csufresno.edu

chayeng xiong

Chayeng Xiong, MSW
yxiong@csufresno.edu 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Part-Time Lecturers

Part-time Lecturers
Name Program Email
Frances Contreras Gerontology frj01@csufresno.edu
Kathleen Cromwell  Gerontology kcromwell@csufresno.edu
Suzanne Rodriguez Social Work  szrodri@mail.fresnostate.edu
Jill Schneider Gerontology jschneider@csufresno.edu
Juliette Shearer  Gerontology  Jshearer@csufresno.edu
Kristina Turk Gerontology kturk@csufresno.edu
Eleanor Uribe (Speakes) Title IV-E espeakes@csufresno.edu

Department Staff

Social Work Education Office 

Main Office Phone: 559.278.3992

Christi Smith
christys@csufresno.edu | 559.278.6824

Michele Falk
mfalk@csufresno.edu

Denise Nunez
dnunez@csufresno.edu

 

Title IV-E Office 

Main Office Phone: 559.278.3076

Vincent Latham
vincentl@csufresno.edu | 559.278.8116

Pearl Fraijo
pfann49@csufresno.edu

Maxine Watson
maxinew@csufresno.edu